Drew County Judge Robert Akin and Monticello Mayor-elect Zack Tucker will host the Southeast Arkansas Economic Development District (SEAEDD) Board of Directors meeting in Monticello on January 8. The meeting will be held at the Monticello Country Club. 

SEAEDD is one of the state’s eight regional planning and development districts created under the provisions of the US Economic Development Act of 1965, which includes ten county judges and forty-eight mayors from the ten most  Southeastern Arkansas counties.

Planning and development districts are quasi-governmental agencies that coordinate states’ over-all economic planning and development within regions; administer state/ federal grants to local governments; manage solid waste, waste tire, and recycling programs in the region; and research, plan, and advise functions as necessary and helpful to the region.

The Southeast Arkansas Regional Solid Waste Management Board of Directors will meet immediately following the SEAEDD Board of Directors meeting.