Gov. Mike Beebe is the recipient of the inaugural Allen Maxwell Distinguished Public Service Award, presented last week at the Arkansas Municipal League Convention in Little Rock.

Maxwell Award

Pictured (left to right) Acting Monticello Mayor Tim Chase; Leslie Maxwell Chase, daughter of the late Allen Maxwell; Gov. Mike Beebe and Dana Maxwell, widow of the late Allen Maxwell. Pea Ridge Mayor and 2013-2014 League President Jackie Crabtree presented the award.

The award is presented to a person who has worked with public and private entities and across political lines to further cities and towns across the state, according to a news release from the Arkansas Municipal League.

The award is named in honor of the late Allen Maxwell, the former mayor of Monticello.

After Maxwell’s successful 33-year career with Southwestern Bell, he turned his attention to public service. He served as U.S. Rep. Jay Dickey’s chief of staff for four years and served three terms representing District 10 in the Arkansas House of Representatives.

As mayor, Maxwell dedicated himself to improving the economy and quality of life in Monticello, with an emphasis on the city’s youth.

The Arkansas Municipal League is a service and advocacy organization for the municipalities of Arkansas. The League has a voluntary membership comprised of all 500 cities and towns in the state and was created to assist cities with information and representation in the public affairs of Arkansas and the United States.