Concerned Citizens of Monticello will host a forum for Monticello and Drew Central School Board candidates on August 2. The forum will be held at the Ethel Hawkins Center at 547 McCloy St. in Monticello. The event begins at 6 p.m. and is expected to run about two hours.

All candidates for the Monticello School Board are unopposed in the September school election. One seat on the Drew Central School Board is contested.

The forum will be an informal meeting to provide candidates an opportunity to inform the community on how they intend to address the critical issues facing the school districts ensure that their position on the issues is fairly and accurately represented, according to a Concerned Citizens of Monticello news release.

Each candidate will be allotted five minutes to present their platform and discuss issues of concern. An additional five minutes will be allowed for follow-up questions from the audience. This event is non-partisan. Concerned Citizens of Monticello informational materials are strictly for educational purposes and suggest no endorsement, bias, or preference.

“It is so important that our citizens get the chance to hear from candidates for public office before the election so that they go into the voting booth as informed voters,” said Joe Britton, chairman of Concerned Citizens of Monticello. “Please plan to attend, and come with a few questions in mind for the candidates. A reception will be held afterwards to provide the audience an opportunity to meet with the candidates one-on-one. We would be proud and excited to have all residents join us for this informative meeting.”

“We encourage all citizens to get involved in community and political activities at the local and state levels,” Britton said. “Please mark your calendar for our regular monthly meetings on the 1st Thursday of each month at 6 p.m. All are welcome.”

Concerned Citizens is a community-based group in Monticello.


Drew Central School Board
Zone 1 – Curley Jackson, incumbent, unopposed
Zone 2 – Rene Knowles, incumbent, unopposed
Zone 3 – Miyoshi Leonard-Smith, incumbent, and Jason Cater
Zone 4 – Mike Pennington, incumbent, unopposed
Zone 5 – Laura Whitaker, incumbent, unopposed

Monticello School Board
Zone 1 – Michael Fakouri
Zone 2 – Keith Wells
Zone 3 – Hani Hashem
Zone 4 – Curt Preston
Zone 5 – Lee Busby
All are incumbents and all are unopposed.