Southeast Arkansas counties have been awarded emergency food shelter funds from the Federal Emergency Management Agency through FEMA’s Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program (EFSP). Funds allocated to Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, Desha and Drew counties are as follows:

Ashley County: $11,032
Bradley County: $4,616
Chicot County: $4,794
Desha County: $6,008
Drew County: $8,604

The National Board consists of representatives from the Salvation Army, American Red Cross, United Jewish Communities, Catholic Charities, the National Council of Churches and the United Way of America.

Local boards, made up of representatives of those agencies and other service providers, will determine how the funds awarded will be expended. The local board will select a local recipient organization to received the funds and administer the program at the local level. Under the terms of the grant, the local recipient organization selected to receive and administer the funds must be a nonprofit organization or governmental unit, have the ability to account for the funds, conduct an annual single-agency audit, practice nondiscrimination and have the capability to administer the Emergency Food and Shelter Program.

Public meetings will be held in each of the counties to develop a budget to allocate the funds to eligible categories. All interested persons are encouraged to attend.


Ashley County
Ashley County Outreach Office in Hamburg
November 4 at 10 a.m.
(870) 853-8606.

Bradley County
SEACAC Central Office in Warren
November 5 at 10 a.m.
(870) 226-4413

Chicot County
Chicot County Courthouse in Lake Village
November 4 at 1 p.m.
(870) 265-3379

Desha County
DHS Office in McGehee
November 6 at 10 a.m.
(870) 382-2105

Drew County
DHS Office in Monticello
November 6 at 1 p.m.
(870) 460-0842