Dermott City Nursing Home Staff

The Dermott City Nursing Home was named “Nursing Home of the Year” by the Arkansas Nursing Home Nurses Association (ANHNA) at the association’s 2012 Fall Convention. ANHNA presents the award annually in memory of Dorothy Huckeby. Arkansas currently has 233 nursing homes.

Determination of the winning facility is based upon surveys conducted by the Arkansas Office of Long Term Care. Recent surveys showed Dermott with fewer deficiencies than the state and national average. There have been no complaint surveys of the Dermott facility in the past fifteen months.

The ANHNA Board also uses the Medicare 5-star rating system and only awards a facility that is an active members of the Association.

Dermott City Nursing Home is licensed by the State of Arkansas for 70 residents and has been in operation since 1991. The facility is nearing the completion of a $500,000 renovation and has more improvements planned.

Administrator Jodi Lang gives credit to the “skill, dedication, and loyalty of the staff and key personnel”, Joyce Foster, director of nursing; Tanya Franklin, assistant director of Nursing; Karen Clowers, human resources; Marylan Colbert, social service director; Anna Green, activity director; Glenda Dalsis, certified dietary manager; Ruby Woods, housekeeping supervisor; Joe Berkley, maintenance supervisor; Erica Swan, quality assurance coordinator; Kelsie Binns, Medicare coordinator; and Tiffany Hargraves, business office assistant.

The nursing home is wholly owned by the City of Dermott and operated through its Nursing Home Commission -Tonilynn Scucchi, chairperson, and members Peaches Strickland, Charles Smith, Floyd Mangum, and Julia Boatner.