The Drew County branch of the NAACP recently installed its new officers and executive committee members for 2021-2022.

Clarissa Pace is the organization’s new president. Other elected and appointed officers include Bettina Randolph, vice president; Brenda Binns, secretary; Lena Kennedy, assistant secretary; Rugenal Lindsey, treasurer; Kimberly Martin, assistant treasurer; and Stacy Deshazer Smith, Peggy Orr, and Mattie Orr, members at large. Monticello City Alderman Al Peer performed the installations.

Pace said she is looking forward to working with the community and has set forth a vision for the next two years that is “bold, involved and equal.”

“Sometimes it is a risk to be involved in matters that bring more equality,” Pace said. “That is the stand we must take in this 21st century. My position is to bring back genuine service to our community, to each other, to our state and to our nation. Bridging gaps that may or may not have been intentional is another goal and we plan to do that peaceably.”

Pace takes office following the longtime leadership of Tommy Daniels.

The Drew County NAACP Branch #6042 was chartered on September 10, 1984 under the leadership of the late James Bealer, who was president at that time. The organization has been strongly involved in the community since it was chartered. Its mission is to secure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights to eliminate race-based discrimination and ensure the health and well-being of all persons.

Citizens of all races, creed, and color are encouraged to become members. Contact Lou Lambert, membership chair, at 870-723-4590, or join online HERE. Membership can also be renewed online.

During the pandemic, monthly meetings will be held on Zoom the third Tuesday of each month. To obtain zoom meeting information, contact Pace @ 870.723.9820 or the branch secretary, Brenda Binns, at 870-723-0661.