Early voting in the special Monticello Mayoral Election begins on May 2 and ends on May 8, the day before the election.

Early voting will be held at the Drew County Courthouse, on the bottom floor in the club room on the south side of the courthouse. Early voters may cast their votes from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. on May 2 through May 5, and on Monday, May 8.

Polls will be open in election day, May 9, from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Candidates are interim Mayor David Anderson, a Democrat who previously served one term as mayor; former mayor Joe Rogers, an independent; and Ronny Carr, also an independent.

The winner will serve until December 31, 2018 and complete the term of former Monticello Mayor Zack Tucker who resigned on January 17 after he was charged with abuse of office and tampering with public records. Tucker subsequently pleaded guilty to abuse of office, a misdemeanor, and was ordered to pay $22,500 restitution to the city.