Second- and third-generation farmers Eddie Eubanks and his sons, Darren and Mark, and their respective families have been named the 2019 Drew County Farm Family of the Year.

Owners and operators of Eubanks Farms and L&D Produce in Wilmar, the Eubanks family farms about 700 acres—between what the family owns and what it rents. They grow, harvest and sell tomatoes, bell peppers, watermelon, cabbage and cantaloupe. They also raise cattle and hay.

This is the second such honor for Eddie. His family was also named Drew County Farm Family of the Year in 1989. With the selection of Charlotte, Von and David Eubanks in 1998, this year’s award means the Eubanks lineage is the most acclaimed farm family in the county.

Other 2019 farm families of the year in Southeast Arkansas are:
Ashley County – Brad Graham of Portland
Desha County – Tony Wells of McGehee
Drew County – Eubanks Farms, Wilmar
Lincoln County – Johnathan and Sara Bottoms of Gould
Bradley County – Hamilton Farms of Hermitage

Since 1947, the Arkansas Farm Family of the Year Program has served as a vehicle to recognize outstanding farm families throughout the state. The objectives of the Farm Family of the year program are to give recognition and encouragement to farm families who are doing an outstanding job on their farm and in their community; gain recognition of the importance of agriculture in the community and state; and disseminate information on improved farm practices and management.

Drew County has participated in the program since 1981, and has named a Farm Family of the Year in all two years (2006 and 2011). The Eubanks family, the Appleberry family (1990 and 2015) and the Oltmann family (1990 and 2008) are the only Drew County families to have been honored multiple times.

Program sponsors are Arkansas Farm Bureau, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, Farm Credit Services of Western Arkansas, AgHeritage Farm Credit Services and Farm Credit Midsouth.

Program partners are the Arkansas Agriculture Department, Arkansas Future Farmers of America Association, Arkansas Press Association, University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture Cooperative Extension Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture-Farm Service Agency, USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service and USDA-Rural Development.