Eight members of the University of Arkansas at Monticello concert choir have been chosen to perform at the Arkansas All-State Music Conference as members of the Arkansas Intercollegiate Choir.

Students from colleges and universities across the state are selected by university choir directors to participate in the Arkansas Intercollegiate Choir. Those chosen from UAM (pictured from left in the photo) are David Wilson, a sophomore music education major from Sheridan; Christopher Cox, a freshman music performance major from Sheridan; Makayla Burris, a senior modern languages major from Hooks, Tex.; Dylan Cash Miles, a senior music education major from McGehee; Bonnie Tigert, a sophomore music education major from Atlanta, Tex.;  Hayley Zavada, a junior music performance major from Conway, Jonathan Cruz, a freshman music education major from Warren, and Katie King, a senior music performance major from Warren.

The Arkansas All-State Music Conference is a workshop for the state’s music teachers and ensemble directors held annually at the Hot Springs Convention Center. This year’s conference will be held February 13-16. Dr. Kent Hatteberg of the University of Louisville will serve as guest conductor.

“The AIC s a chance for our students to meet other university vocal students and to work on quality choral music with a highly regarded choral conductor,” said Dr. Kent Skinner, director of choral activities at UAM.
In addition to the performance, choir members will have the opportunity to hear other ensemble performances and attend workshops and clinics.