Gov. Mike Beebe on Tuesday requested a federal disaster declaration to cover all 75 counties in Arkansas due to the drought.

Riverbank at Choctaw Island in Desha County on July 7, 2012

“It will take much more than the recent scattered rain to break these drought conditions,” Beebe said. “Many of our farmers and ranchers face a tough season ahead, and the federal government can provide them with tools to ease the financial impact of crop losses.”

If issued, the declaration would qualify eligible farmers and ranchers to receive emergency loans to support operations hampered by the drought.

Beebe submitted a similar request to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack for 13 counties last month, but on Tuesday he expanded his request to include all 75 counties in the state.

Farmers and ranchers with any questions about the request or the loans it may provide should contact their local Farm Service Agency office.