Gov. Asa Hutchinson on April 23 declared 11 counties disaster areas in the wake of severe storms and tornadoes that ripped through Arkansas on April 12, snapping and uprooting trees, damaging homes and other structures, downing power lines, leaving thousands without power.

Hutchinson declared Arkansas, Bradley, Cleveland, Dallas, Drew, Grant, Hot Spring, Jefferson, Lincoln, Ouachita, and Phillips counties disaster areas.