Geroge Harris, India Holt and Michael Jones

A trio of southeast Arkansas banking executives have been named to the University of Arkansas at Monticello’s Board of Visitors.
George T. Harris, president and chief executive officer of Commercial Bank of Monticello, India Holt, vice president of marketing for the First National Bank of Crossett, and Michael Jones, president and chief executive officer of Merchants and Farmers Bank of Dumas, were appointed to the advisory board by Governor Mike Beebe.

“I am so pleased to welcome George Harris, India Holt, and Michael Jones to the Board of Visitors,” said UAM Chancellor Jack Lassiter. “The board provides invaluable insight and guidance to the institution and each of the new appointees are wonderful additions to this group.”

Harris and Holt are UAM graduates while Jones is a graduate of UA-Fayetteville.  Harris is a Monticello native who graduated from what was then Arkansas A&M College in 1966 with a bachelor’s degree in accounting. He earned an M.B.A. from UA-Fayetteville in 1982.
A certified public accountant, Harris worked in private accounting firms from 1966 to 1972 before becoming president of First National Bank of Dermott, a position he held until 1981. He joined the management team of Commercial Bank of Monticello in 1982 and was named president in 1998.  Harris also taught accounting at UAM in 1982-83.

India Nixon Holt is also a Monticello native and a 1994 UAM graduate with a bachelor of science degree in marketing. She was president of Alpha Sigma Alpha sorority and Greek Woman of the Year in 1993. She earned an M.B.A. from Louisiana Tech in 1996 and is a 2002 graduate of the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking at Southern Methodist University. She joined First National Bank of Crossett in 1996.

Jones is a native of Helena who received a bachelor of science degree in business administration from UA-Fayetteville and a juris doctor from the UA School of Law. He also attended the National Graduate Trust School at Northwestern University and the Stonier Graduate School of Banking at the University of Delaware. Jones was named vice president and trust officer of Merchants and Farmers Bank in Dumas in 1980 and became president in 1990.

The UAM Board of Visitors was established by the 84th General Assembly as a 12-member advisory board with members appointed by the Governor. The new board members’ terms expire July 31, 2014.

Other members of the board are Chairman Tommy Maxwell of Monticello, Vice Chairman Roger George of Warren, Secretary Jeff Owyoung of McGehee, Lorraine McCullough of Crossett, Carlton Davis of Warren, Scotty Holderfield of Rison, Pat Webb of Star City, Dr. Tim Chase of Monticello, and Beverly Rowe of Lake Village.