Larry Bailey, Diana Harton, Doyle Webb

Diana Harton, chairman of the Drew County Republican Party, received the state party’s “Best First Annual Event” award at a GOP state committee meeting on December 3.

“Chairman Harton has provided the Drew County Republican Committee with incredible leadership and we look forward to working with her and the committee to elect conservative Republicans across Southeast Arkansas in 2012”, said Arkansas Republican Party Chairman Doyle Webb.

Webb lauded Harton for the Drew County Republican Party’s first annual Reagan Day Dinner, specifically the speakers, food, music and auction.

The Drew County Republicans hosted the dinner in October as a tribute to former president Ronald Reagan and his conservative principles and values. Speakers included keynote speaker Ed Bethune, a former U.S. Congressman; and GOP congressional candidates Marcus Richmond, Tom Cotton, and Beth Anne Rankin. Webb made opening remarks and Curtis Coleman emceed the event.

Also, Mike Akin, a GOP candidate for the state Senate, announced his candidacy at the event, which was catered by The Buck Stop with entertainment provided by the jazz band, The 2 Five-Ones, and decorations by Seasons Florist..

“The event was well attended this year, but we hope even more will join us next year when we host our second annual Reagan Day Dinner” Harton said.

For more information about the Drew County Republican Party, visit their web site.