As one of his last orders of business as Arkansas Speaker of the House, Robert S. Moore, Jr. appointed Lake Village Mayor JoAnne Bush, Camden mayor Chris Claybaker and Springdale Mayor Doug Sprouse to serve on the State Aid Street Committee.

The committee selects municipal street projects from across the state for funding from the State Aid Street Fund.  The recent passage of Issue #1 directs one cent from the current fuel tax to be directed to the State Aid Street Fund.  It is expected to bring in an additional $20 million a year for local improvement projects.
“Arkansans will begin to see progress very soon in their commute to work and travels across the state,” Moore said. “Highway funding was a top priority for me as Speaker of the 88th General Assembly. I’m grateful to the voters for passing the amendment we put before them. As one of my last orders of business, it was important to me to ensure all areas of the state were represented on the committee. I’m confident all mayors I have appointed will help to ensure the fund is used wisely.”
The State Aid Street Committee consist of 9 mayors. Three are appointed by the Speaker of the Arkansas House. Each mayor serves a term of four years.