Gov. Asa Hutchinson has created an advisory committee for the post-peak response to Covid-19. The “Governor’s Medical Advisory Committee for Post-Peak COVID-19 Response,” will identify the criteria to guide public health strategy after Arkansas reaches the peak of COVID-19 cases, according to a news release from the governor’s office.

The committee will examine testing capabilities and social distancing protocols and make any recommendations necessary to avoid a resurgence of COVID-19.

Dr. Nathaniel Smith, secretary of the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH), will serve as the committee chairman. Other committee members are:

Dr. Jose Romero – ADH Chief Medical Officer and Chief of Pediatric Infectious Disease at University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS)/Arkansas Children’s Hospital

Dr. Naveen Patil – ADH Medical Director for Infectious Disease

Dr. Jennifer Dillaha – ADH State Epidemiologist

Dr. Austin Porter – ADH Deputy Chief Science Officer and Assistant Professor at the UAMS College of Public Health

Dr. Greg Bledsoe – Surgeon General of Arkansas

Dr. Jerrilyn Jones – ADH Medical Director for Preparedness and Response and Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at UAMS

Dr. Sam Greenfield – ADH Medical Director for Family Health and Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at UAMS

The committee will provide its first briefing to Hutchinson later this week.