The Libertarian Party recently selected former State Rep. Robert “Bobby” Tullis, of Mineral Springs, as its nominee for Arkansas’ 4th District congressional seat. Tullis, who served 14 years in the Arkansas Legislature, was a Democratic candidate for state auditor in 1994 and a Green Party candidate for state treasurer in 2010.

He received the Libertarian Party nomination for the 4th District seat at a state convention in Little Rock earlier this month, when the party nominated its first field of state candidates.

This is the first time in history that the LPAR has met the ballot access requirements to run candidates for any office other than president, according to a Libertarian Party news release.

The LPAR was certified as a new political party by the Secretary of State in 2011 after submitting more than 16,000 signatures of registered voters. In Arkansas, new political parties choose their candidates at a nominating convention rather than in a primary.

“We are thrilled that every Arkansan will have at least two Libertarians on their ballot this year,” said Rodger Paxton of Marion, the state party chairman and candidate for District 51  state representative.

“We will not have to compromise and choose the lesser of two evils, but can finally vote on principals that include true freedom and liberty in every aspect of our lives,” Paxton said.

Libertarian Party candidates nominated for offices in Arkansas are:

—1st District House: Jessica Paxton, Marion

—2nd District House: Chris Hayes, Little Rock

—3rd District House: David Pangrac, Van Buren

—State Senate District 13: Frank Gilbert, Tull

—State Senate District 25: David Dinwiddie, Pine Bluff

—State Senate District 31: Glen Schwarz, Little Rock

—Saline County Judge: Gordon Hall, Bryant

—Constable, Sebastian County Upper Township: Steve Jones, Fort Smith

—Crawford County Justice of the Peace: Crystal Pangrac, Van Buren

—Constable, Henderson Township: William “Bill” House, Bonnerdale

Libertarians advocate lower taxes, more personal freedom and less government intervention.

In order for the LPAR to retain ballot access for 2014, the Libertarian presidential nominee must have three percent of the vote in Arkansas. If the Libertarian presidential nominee earns less than three percent, the LPAR will be required to gather 10,000 valid signatures from registered voters in order to run candidates in 2014.

The National Libertarian Party will nominate their presidential candidate on May 5 during their national convention in Las Vegas. Libertarian presidential nominees include former New Mexico Governor Gary Johnson, R. Lee Wrights of Texas and others. The LPAR plans to send at least six delegates to the nominating convention next month.