Shay Hood

Local country and gospel music recording artist Shay Hood will perform Saturday at the Drew County Speedway.

The Trip Jct Records recording artist will start the night’s festivities, singing of the national anthem. Later in the evening she will entertain the crowd with her powerful voice.

“Many music fans from our area think she should be the next American Idol,” according to a Drew County Speedway spokesman.

Shay was born into a family of musicians. Her father is a minister and guitarist and her mother is a singer and talented musician.

Shay began singing in church at the age of two, singing I’ll Fly Away. At the age of 10, her family realized she had a great ear for harmony. She began singing harmony with her family and a church group in Delhi, La.

Two years later, her family, “The Robin Hood Family” did a recording project featuring Shay on a couple of songs. She has sung with a number of great gospel artists. Shay plays guitar, piano and drums and loves singing with her family at church.

Shay, 25, will soon be graduating from the University of Arkansas at Monticello. Her music is available at iTunes, cdbaby, emusic and rhapsody.

For more information, call the Drew County Speedway at (870) 460-9500.

August 6 Speedway race results:

1. Jeremy Tucker – Wilmar
2. Ray Moss – McGehee
3. Jarrett Hartness – Monticello
4. Jeff Tucker – Wilmar
5. Scott West – Star City

1. Derek Adair, Warren
2. Jason Gattis, Little Rock
3. David Nichols, Warren
4. Dany Carrington, Sr., Pine Bluff
5. Tillman Lowe, Monticello

1. Johnny Wilson, Redfield
2. Clint Mashburn, Hermitage
3. Roger Williams, Hampton
4. Brandon Lloyd, Fountain Hill
5. Ken Holt, Dumas

1. Randy Joe Branch – West Monroe, La.
2. Jason Soignier – West Monroe, La.
3. Chad Thompson Farmerville – La.
4. Todd Abbott – Maumelle
5. Will Ramsey – Smackover

1. Alan Brown – Alexander
2. Jodey Reep – El Dorado
3. Marcus Frisch – Eros, La.
4. Chris Reed – Rison
5. Jonathan Cribb – El Dorado

1. Chandler Petty – Austin
2. Cody Kierre – Beebe
3. A.C. Parker, Jr. – Wayside, Miss.
4. Zane Ferrell – Hermitage,
5. Mark Tice – Avon, Miss.