Stacy Reynolds, a computer science educator at McGehee High School, has been named one of five finalists for the 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year Award, according to the Arkansas Department of Education.

The other four finalists are:

Carl Frank, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts
Ashley Kincannon, Lake Hamilton Junior High School
Kimberly Raup, Conway High School
Lauren Taylor, Dardanelle High School

“The ADE Office of Computer Science received many quality applications,” Anthony Owen, the state director of Computer Science Education said in a news release announcing the finalists. “This year’s applications were some of the most competitive we have seen in the three years of this award. Unfortunately, our team could only select five, and we selected the educators who best demonstrated both a long-term and ongoing commitment to, passion for, and impact on computer science education in Arkansas and the nation. These educators have earned and deserve this recognition.”

Each finalist will receive a $2,500 award from the ADE Office of Computer Science. The winner, who will be announced at a later date, will receive an additional $12,500 award.

A panel of representatives from the ADE Computer Science Unit, the 2020 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year, external industry leaders, and other education experts will review the finalists’ applications and select the 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year based on a rubric scoring system.