The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to Arkansas to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the counties affected by the March 8-13 storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding.

Those counties include Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Cleveland, Columbia, Desha, Lincoln, Ouachita, Phillips and Prairie.

President Barak Obama’s action makes federal funding available to state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged during the severe weather.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Charles Maskell has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Maskell said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.