A Hamburg woman, a Crossett woman, a Dumas man and three Monticello men, were among 38 appointments Gov. Mike Beebe recently made to state boards and commissions.

Marilyn Chambers of Hamburg was reappointed to the Arkansas Early Childhood Commission; Monticello High School principal Kenny Pennington was reappointed to the Arkansas Pygmalion Commission on Nontraditional Education; George Harris of Monticello, India Holt of Crossett, and Michael Jones of Dumas were appointed to the University of Arkansas at Monticello (UAM) Board of Visitors; and Tommy Maxwell of Monticello, was reappointed to the UAM Board of Visitors.

Harris replaces Bennie Ryburn, III of Monticello; Holt replaces Cynthia Montgomery of McGehee and Jones replaces Jimmy Barrett, of McGehee.