As predicted, Southeast Arkansas’ new state Senate district includes all of Ashley, Bradley, Chicot and Drew counties, roughly half of Cleveland County, and most of Lincoln and Desha counties. The new state House Districts in Southeast Arkansas are:

District 8, includes all of Bradley County, and portions of Drew, Ashley, Calhoun, Dallas and Cleveland counties.
District 9, includes about two-thirds of Drew County and a portion of Ashley County.
District 10, includes portions of Cleveland, Drew, Lincoln, Jefferson and Grant counties.
District 11, includes all of Chicot County, most of Desha County and a large portion of Ashley County.
District 12, includes portions of Lincoln, Arkansas, Desha and Phillips counties.

District 10 state Rep. Sheilla Lampkin, who will have a new district and district number, said she is saddened that she will no longer represent portions of Cleveland, Lincoln and Jefferson counties but looks forward to representing and serving new constituents in Ashley County and more of her home county, Drew.

“I have to say I am saddened to lose the honor of serving all my new friends in Cleveland, Lincoln and Jefferson counties,” Lampkin wrote in a Friday afternoon news release. “I have met so many honest, straightforward and ‘real’ people and I hate to ‘lose’ them.

“However, I look forward to serving more of my home county and all the new wonderful people I’ll get to know and serve in Ashley County,” she said. “I already know many special people there and look forward to meeting all of the others.

“Ashley and Drew have multitudes of common interests, especially their timber industries and their goals for economic development,” Lampkin said. “I intend to start visiting the (people of) Ashley County as soon as possible we will have some great opportunities together. I will serve the needs of both counties to the best  of my abilities.

“Meanwhile I still will be the official representative of the present District 10 until 2013 and we have much to do,” she said. “I’m going to be a busy lady representing all of my constituents and future constituents.  Thank you for the opportunity.”