Antonio Magana, Colton Rudder and Aubrey Gill

Two Star City High School students took top awards while another was awarded a scholarship at the Arkansas Young Artists Association Competition and Convention held March 4 at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

Colton Rudder placed second in Pen & Ink (Realistic) and Aubrey Gill placed second place in Colored Pencil (Abstract/Non-objective). Rudder and Gill are both juniors at Star City High School.

Antonio Magana, a senior at Star City High School, received a scholarship from the Memphis College of Art in Memphis, Tenn. based on the artwork he entered into the competition. The scholarship was one of only 13 awarded.

Other students who competed in the state level competition were Haley Bishop, Morgan Taylor, Robert Davis, Angel Garrison, Tyler Courson, Megan Edwards, Christa McDaniel, Stephanie McDaniel, Larry Wilcox, Dominique Smith, Deja Thomas, James McBroom, and Matt Kinney.

Front Row, left to right, Robert Davis, Dominique Smith, Angel Garrison, Megan Edwards and Tyler Courson. Second Row: Antonio Magana, Haley Bishop, Aubrey Gill, Deja Thomas and Christa McDaniel. Third Row: Colton Rudder, James McBroom, Larry Wilcox, Morgan Taylor, Matt Kinney, and Stephanie McDaniel.

The students are under the instruction of Star City High School art teacher Roger Darren High.

The Arkansas Young Artists Association (AYAA) is a state-wide organization of high school students enrolled in grades 9th through 12th.

The main focus of the AYAA organization is the annual spring convention and competition. The competition this year artwork from over 1000 students from across the state.

During the convention, students are encouraged to bring up to five pieces of artwork that they have created that year.  All of the artworks are divided into 66 categories for awards.

Awards are presented to the 1st through 4th place winners and honorable mentions as well as a Best of Show.

While the jurors are judging the artworks, the students are involved in the on-site competitions in six different categories or they are in the main meeting hall with a keynote speaker.