Sign on the Drew County Courthouse lawn directing voters to the early voting location.


Nearly 10 percent of the registered voters in Monticello took advantage of early voting and cast early ballots in the special Monticello mayoral election.

The city has 4,846 registered voters and 418 had voted as of 4:15 p.m. Monday, the last day to vote early. Election day voting begins at 7:30 a.m. Tuesday and runs through 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday.

A Democrat, a Republican and three independents are hoping to complete the late Allen Maxwell’s unexpired term which ends on December 31. They will also be running in November for a full 4-year term.

The candidates include former Monticello mayor Joe Rogers, an independent; mayor’s assistant Zack Tucker, a Democrat; former Monticello city alderman Sonny Thornhill, an independent; Monticello Parks Commission member Jo Ann Trotter, an independent; and U.S. Navy veteran Dave Nugent, a Republican. (The candidates’ names are linked to their responses to Seark Today’s questions in the recent mayoral Q&A series.)

Four of the five candidates recently participated in a mayoral forum where they fielded questions from the audience.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][/vc_column][/vc_row]