Tom Richard
The artwork of Tom Richard, of Monticello, will be featured in the Irene Rosenzweig Biennial Juried Exhibition at the Arts & Science Center for Southeast Arkansas.

The opening reception and awards ceremony for this prestigious event will be held on Thursday, September 21, 5 p.m. until 7 p.m., with juror remarks at 5:30 p.m.

Thirty artists from seven states — Arkansas, Missouri, Tennessee, Texas, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Louisiana — will be featured in this year’s exhibition.

The Rosenzweig juried show has a long history with the Arts & Science Center, beginning with a gift from the Irene Rosenzweig Foundation in 1992. Irene Rosenzweig was born July 26, 1903 in Pine Bluff and graduated first in her class in 1920 from Pine Bluff High School. She received a Ph.D. from Bryn Mawr College in Pennsylvania and was awarded the Prix De Rome fellowship from the American Academy in Rome. Fluent in French, German, Spanish, Latin and Greek, she served as tutor to the Franklin D. Roosevelt family in the White House. Rosenzweig died in Pine Bluff in 1997.

Rosenzweig accepts entries in most media from Arkansas artists and artists from surrounding states. This year’s exhibition is juried by Pine Bluff native MaryRoss Taylor. After studying art in Arkansas and at the Moore School in Philadelphia, she received degrees in English and founded an influential bookstore in Houston as well as the nonprofit Texas Arts & Cultural Organization (TACO), which brought The Dinner Party by Judy Chicago to Houston. Taylor currently serves on the Board of Advisors of the Brooklyn Museum and the National Museum of Women in the Arts, and on the Arkansas Committee of National Museum of Women in the Arts.

Artists selected for the exhibition include Arkansas artists Carmen Castorena of Bentonville, Andrew Estess of Pine Bluff, Christopher Hatley of Little Rock, Don House of Fayetteville, Rashawn Penister of Pine Bluff, Tom Richard of Monticello, Sandra Sell of Little Rock, Dominique Simmons of Little Rock, Byron Taylor of Little Rock, Henry Thomas of Sherwood, Elizabeth Weber of Little Rock, Steven Wise of Rogers, and Emily Moll Wood of Little Rock.

Artists selected from surrounding states include Cody Benson of Commerce, Texas, Peter C. Britton of Saint Joseph, Missouri, Paula Campbell of Oak Ridge, Tennessee, Luena Y. Comas of Lawton, Oklahoma, Michael Elliott-Smith of Alexandria, Louisiana, Stephen Evans of Dallas, Texas, Devin Howell of Tulsa, Oklahoma, Gerard Hubar of Dallas, Texas, Heather Ryan Kelley of Lake Charles, Louisiana, Arthur McViccar of Lafayette, Louisiana, Susan R. Michael of Tulsa, Oklahoma, Bill Price of Memphis, Tennessee, Mike Ramsey of Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi, Kristen Tordella-Williams of Jackson, Mississippi, and Liz Zanca of Ruston, Louisiana.

The Arts & Science Center is located at 701 S. Main St. in Pine Bluff.



Landmark 1