Aaron Ruby, Mayor JoAnne Bush, Lake Village aldermen Jo Dan Yee and and Sammy Angel, Lake Village City Council

Aaron Ruby, Mayor JoAnne Bush, Lake Village aldermen Jo Dan Yee and and Sammy
Angel, Lake Village City Council

Lake Village’s restoration of the Tushek Building was recognized by the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas at the Alliance’s annual awards ceremony honoring individuals and organizations for projects focused on historic sites throughout the state.

The Tushek Building received an Honorable Mention for Excellence in Preservation through Restoration. The City of Lake Village, Mayor JoAnne Bush, Ruby Architects, Inc. and James H. Cone, Inc. were recognized for the LEED certified project which consolidated all city services in one beautifully restored historic building.

Mayor Bush accepted the award on behalf of the city.

Arkansas Business has a story on the restoration project.

The Arkansas Preservation Awards are given each year to recognize the important work being done throughout Arkansas to preserve and protect places of historical or cultural importance.

“In every one of these projects, someone made the decision that preserving the physical place is important,” said Historic Preservation Alliance Director Vanessa McKuin. “I am proud of everyone that helped make these projects possible by contributing time and resources. We should all be proud to be part of a movement that is adding such value to communities around the state.”

Honorees and guests celebrated with a reception and banquet at the Clinton Presidential Center followed by program recognizing the award-winning projects. Rex Nelson served as Master of Ceremonies for the event.

Other award recipients:

The Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement was given to Frances “Missy” McSwain of Lonoke for her work over the past three decades in the non-profit preservation sector and through the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. Missy is recognized for her ongoing work to preserve Arkansas’ historic county courthouses, her family home and her efforts to effect preservation on the state and national levels. Also highlighted was her focus on linking preservation, placemaking and economic development.

The Delta Cultural Center in Helena was given the Award for Excellence in Heritage Preservation for its ongoing efforts to interpret and preserve the Delta people’s heritage through preserving important structures and by using heritage preservation as a means to revitalize a unique region in our country.

Awards for Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation were given to:

The Fort Smith Regional Art Museum and project team members Polk Stanley Wilcox and Goodwin & Goodwin, Inc. were recognized for adapting a Mid-Century bank building into a stunning art museum.

The Lesmeister Guesthouse in Pocahontas – owner Dr. Patrick Carroll, DDS, St. Charles Properties LLC, JAMESON Architects PA and T-Co Contractors, Inc., were recognized for adapting a landmark commercial building into upscale guest accommodations.

The Mann on Main in Little Rock – owner Mann Property LLC (Doyle Rogers Company and Moses Tucker Real Estate Inc.) and project team members AMR Architects, Inc., Clark Construction and Central Construction Group were recognized for adapting the early 20th Century department store and annex for office, residential and restaurant space.

The City of Pine Bluff and the design team including Nelson Architecture Group and Ruby Architects were recognized with an Honorable Mention for Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation was given to The Boone Murphy House in Pine Bluff, now home to the Pine Bluff Historic District Commission.

An Award for Excellence in Preservation through Restoration was given to the Johnny Cash Boyhood Home project team: Arkansas State University, Heritage Sites Program, Ruby Architects, Inc. and KMC General Contractors for an authentic restoration of a rural Arkansas house with a very special past. Joanne Cash Yates, younger sister of Johnny Cash and consultant to the project accepted the award on behalf of the project team.

The Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication was given to Co-Authors Cheryl Batts, Janis Kearney and Patricia W. McGraw, PhD for John Lee Webb, the Man and His Legacy. The book chronicles John Lee Webb’s significant contributions to the built environment of Hot Springs in the early 20th Century and how he helped to shape Hot Springs into a center of African American tourism during a time of segregation.

The Award for Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy was given to the Newport Economic Development Commission and Clinton School for Public Service students Foster Holcomb, Abby R. Olivier and James Stephens for efforts to build the case for saving the historic “blue bridge,” the White River Bridge in Newport, which is slated to be replaced.

The Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education was given to Nancy Lowe, recently retired designer for Main Street Arkansas who worked for over 25 years providing design assistance to Main Street communities and educating people within those communities about historic design principles and the importance of preservation.

Ozark Hall on the Fayetteville campus of the University of Arkansas was recognized with the Award for Outstanding New Construction in a Historic Setting. Members of the project team Wittenberg, Deloney & Davidson, Inc., Robert A.M. Stern Architects and VCC Construction Company shared the award for a compatible new addition which completes the vision for Ozark Hall set out in the 1925 campus master plan.

An Honorable Mention for Outstanding New Construction in a Historic Setting went to the Historic Arkansas Museum’s Blacksmith Shop at Plum Bayou Homestead in Little Rock. The Historic Arkansas Museum, Ruby Architects and Brister Construction were recognized for the new building which reflects period design and construction techniques and functions as a place where craftsmen can engage the visitor in dramatic demonstrations of period craftsmanship.

Anita Davis was recognized with the Award for Outstanding Service in Neighborhood Preservation for her work on South Main Street in Little Rock. Projects like the Bernice Garden, the Esse Purse Museum have attracted investment and fostered community interaction. Her vision and her personal actions have played a major role in transforming the South Main Street neighborhood in just a few short years.

The Award for Outstanding Work by a Craftsperson was given to Danny Ball, Sr. for restoring and replicating historic wood windows for the 1903 New Hope School near Wynne in Cross County. Mr. Ball’s work on the windows are part of a larger ongoing restoration project.

The award for Outstanding Personal Projects was given to Ron and Christina Drake, Drake Concepts for the Connelly-Harrington House in Siloam Springs. The house was severely damaged by fire two years ago, but was rehabilitated with the help of Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credits. Matthias J. Pearson, Architect, was also noted in the award.