Suzi Davis, an art teacher at Jimmy Brown Elementary School, and Nickie Owens, an art teacher at Woodlawn High School, were recently named art teachers of the year at the annual Arkansas Art Educators fall conference.

Davis was named 2021 Arkansas Elementary Art Educator of the Year and Owens was named 2021 Arkansas Secondary Art Educator of the Year.

Davis is currently in her 30th year of teaching art, 24 at Jimmy Brown Elementary in the Star City School District. She received her bachelor’s degree at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff. She recently received a $500 Arkansas Art Educators Presidents’ Foundation classroom grant to purchase of materials and art supplies needed for a lesson that will benefit more than 300 students. Davis is pictured in the left photo above with Arkansas Art Educators President Charity McCartney. Davis is on the left.

Owens has been an art teacher at Woodlawn High School for 31 years. One of Owens’ former students, Jill Moore, presented Owens with the 2021 Aransas Secondary Art Teacher of the Year Award. Moore, who is now the Star City Middle School art teacher, said Owens inspired both her and her sister to become art teachers. Owens is pictured in the right photo above with Moore. Owens is on the right.

The Arkansas Art Educators fall conference allows art teachers from across the state to come together annually for professional development and participation in a professional learning community.

Star City High School art teacher Roger Darren High helped coordinate fundraising activities to benefit the non-profit group Arkansas Art Educators Presidents’ Foundation that provides grants to Arkansas art teachers. High serves as president of the AAE Presidents’ Foundation and is also news director for Arkansas Art Educators.

The AAE Presidents’ Foundation sold t-shirts and sweatshirts featuring a design by Star City High School senior Maddie Welch, who won the statewide t-shirt design contest.

Members of the Arkansas Art Educators Presidents’ Foundation raised money for grants for art teachers at the Arkansas Art Educators fall conference. Officers are pictured below. Gail King, treasurer; Sue Anne McCoy, vice president; Patricia Singh, board member; and Roger Darren High, president.