The University of Arkansas at Monticello chapter of Alpha Chi, the national collegiate honor society, was recently selected for the eighth consecutive year to receive Star Chapter status for 2012-13, according to Dr. Kate Stewart, professor of English and UAM chapter sponsor.

The Star Chapter designation honors chapters for meeting several criteria, including sending a faculty sponsor and student member to the annual national or regional convention, having a student presenter at the convention program, having a national scholarship or fellowship nominee, sponsoring a campus program with an academic emphasis, registering new members, and filing the annual chapter report.

“I’m very proud of our students for the hard work they put in to earn Star Chapter status,” said Stewart. “Alpha Chi has more than 300 chapters in every state as well as Puerto Rico, so to be one of a select few to earn this designation reflects positively, not only on the chapter, but on the institution as well.”

“This is a wonderful honor for both the Alpha Chi chapter and the institution,” said Dr. Jimmie Yeiser, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs. “I commend the student members who value academic achievement and their faculty sponsors who have set as an annual goal of achieving this honor. My congratulations to everyone involved.”

Alpha Chi was founded in 1922 and includes students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of a university’s juniors and seniors. UAM’s chapter was founded in 1956.

UAM Alpha Chi members pictured above at a recent meeting are (standing, left) Dr. Kate Stewart, faculty sponsor, (first row on left, front to back) Sara Jewell of Cove, John-Paul Castro of Texarkana, Ark., Jaylan Thomas of Ozark, Hayley Coughlin of Vilonia, Ryan Ashley of Vilonia, (second row from left, back to front) Derrick Metheny of Vilonia, Nathan Carman of Heber Springs, Morgyn Ellis of White Hall, Tessa Cucurullo of Monticello, Summer Huddleston of Quitman, Tex., Kody Coleman of New Waverly, Tex., Lauren McClain of Warren, (third row from left, front to back) Shelby Sturgis of Wilmar, Beth Johnson of Allen, Tex., Ryan Reyes of New Waverly, Tex., Hope Dunlap of New Edinburg, Erin Selby of Portland, Clint Blasengameof Stuttgart, (fourth row from left, back to front) Shana Chancellor of Red Oak, Tex., Brannon Hill of Dumas, Candace Virgadamo of Conroe, Tex., Alicia McKinney of Star City, Blake Washington of Little Rock, Sara McIrvine of Monticello, (final row on right, front to back) Jason Holmes of Tulsa, Dan Degges of Hamburg, Emily McCloskey of Pine Bluff, Kelly Reed of Bentonville, Meagan Peters of Arlington, Tex., and (at far right) Roy Wisecarver, III of Crossett.