UAM Basketball

The University of Arkansas at Monticello men’s basketball team was named the NCAA Division II Program of the Year, Thursday afternoon by the Arkansas Basketball Coaches Association.

Arkansas-Monticello earned the award from the ArBCA after finishing the 2016-17 season with a 23-7 (17-5 GAC) overall record, with a share of the Great American Conference regular season title, and finishing as the runner-up in the GAC Championship Tournament. UAM then advanced on into the NCAA Tournament where the Weevils ultimately fell to the defending 2016 champions, Augustana University.

The Weevils are the fifth NCAA Division II men’s basketball program in the last eight years to win 20 games just one year after losing 20 games in the previous season. Arkansas-Monticello set various school records throughout this season, including the best start in school history (14-0), highest winning percentage in school history (.767), consecutive wins (15), most conference wins (17), total assists in a season (497), and assists per game in a season (16.6).

UAM also ranked in the NCAA national top 25 poll for six consecutive weeks, reaching the highest ranking of 16 overall. The Weevils led the Great American Conference in several stat categories as a team, such as field goal percentage (73 percent), assists per game (16.6), and total steals (220).

UAM earned various individual awards over the course of this past season as head coach Kyle Tolin was selected as the GAC Coach of the Year, as well as being selected as the 2017 Arkansas Sports Network Coach of the Year, and was picked as the UAM Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Coach of the Year.

Also earning individual accolades were:

Derylton Hill, selected as the GAC Newcomer of the Year, All-GAC First-Team selection, and the Bevo Francis Top 50 Watch List, CCA Second-Team All-Central Regional pick, NABC Second-Team All-District pick, and was a three-time GAC Player of the Week selection; and

Cobe Goosby and Karim Mawuenyega who both made the cut as All-GAC Second-Team members as well as earning recognition to the All Arkansas Sports Network Teams, and the GAC All-Tournament Team.

Landmark 1