The University of Arkansas at Monticello debate and forensics team won the sweepstakes competition at last week’s Henderson State Reddie to Rumble Tournament in Arkadelphia, the first of two complete tournaments held on the HSU campus.

Debate at HSU

UAM debate students competing at Henderson State last week included (from left, first row) Kaitlyn Lybrand of Sheridan, Kelly Reed of Bella Vista, Tanisha Smith of Hamburg, April Wright of Conway, Brittany Halley of Monticello, (second row) Ben Graves of Hot Springs, Jacob Chisom of Monticello, Jim Evans, director of debate and forensics, Breanna Taylor of North Little Rock, Chris Brown of Siloam Springs, Eddie Weaver of DeWitt, Zack Tucker of Monticello, and Keith Milstead, assistant director of debate and forensics.

In the Reddie to Rumble Tournament, UAM graduate student Chris Brown of SiloamSprings was the debate champion in the professional division while being named second best individual speaker. Keith Milstead, assistant director of debate and forensics, was the first place individual speaker in the professional division and a professional semifinalist in debate.

In the varsity debate competition, UAM students Kelly Reed of Bella Vista and Eddie Weaver of DeWitt reached the quarterfinals. Reed was named first place individual speaker while Weaver was the third place individual speaker.

April Wright of Conway and Tanisha Smith of Hamburg were among the top performers in the novice debate division. Wright won the novice debate championship and was the fourth place individual speaker while Smith was the fifth place speaker.

In the second HSU tournament, UAM placed second in team sweepstakes. In novice debate, Tanisha Smith was a quarterfinalist and the third place individual speaker while Jason Chisom of Monticello reached the round of 16.

Breanna Taylor of North Little Rock and Reed competed in varsity debate with Reed earning first place individual speaker honors while Taylor was a quarterfinalist.

In the professional division, Milstead reached the quarterfinals and was the second place speaker while Zack Tucker of Monticello reached the semifinals and was named the first place speaker.

UAM was one of 11 colleges and universities competing at the two tournaments. The others were LSU-Shreveport, Lee College, Harding, East Texas Baptist, Henderson State, Stephen F. Austin, Oral Roberts, Arkansas Tech, Central Arkansas, and Bossier Parrish Community College.
For more information, contact Jim Evans, director of debate and forensics.