UAM Debate Team

The University of Arkansas Monticello Speech and Debate team finished second in the sweepstakes competition at the Henderson State University Warm-up Tournament September 23-25 in Arkadelphia.

UAM placed ahead of the University of Central Arkansas, Louisiana College and Sam Houston State University, competing in both the varsity and professional debate divisions.

In the professional division, Bobby Evans, a junior from Memphis, Tenn., advanced to the quarterfinals while Zack Tucker, a graduate student from Marked Tree, reached the final 16.

In varsity debate, Chris Brown, a senior from Siloam Springs, and Tiffany Reed, a senior from Cabot, reached the final 16. Brown was named the first place award for Varsity Speaking while Reed placed third.

Other students contributing to UAM’s second place finish were Elizabeth Borse, a junior art major from Monticello, Anna Blace Barron, a graduate assistant for the debate team from Monticello, Sydney Davis, a sophomore creative writing major from Bentonville,  Jessica Pennington, a junior communication major from Crossett, Meg Ryan, a junior speech communication major from Camden, Leigh Brist, a sophomore communication major from Cabot, Justin Walker, a junior from Dumas, and Samantha Montgomery, a junior political science major from Woodlawn, Brittany Halley, a sophomore psychology major from Monticello, Jessica Thrower, a sophomore education major from Rison, Amanda Thompson, a freshman social work major from Scott, Katie Sims, a sophomore English major from Crossett, and  Yvonne Hinshaw, a graduate student from Monticello.

“At the first of the season it’s hard to know how your team will compare to the other teams on the circuit,” said Jim Evans, director of forensics and debate. “This finish gives us high hopes for the season.”

UAM will host the annual Weevil Ware regional tournament September 30 through October 2.  Over a hundred students from six states are expected to compete in this year’s tournament.

UAM Debate and Forensics Team members, pictured above, are (from left, first row) are Keith Milstead, assistant coach, Katie Sims, Brittney Halley, Tiffany Reed, Anna-Blace Barron, Bobby Evans, Jessica Thrower, Jim Evans, coach, (second row) Lei Brist, Liz Borse, Meg Ryan, Yvonne Hinshaw, Jessica Pennington, (third row) Zack Tucker, Sam Montgomery, Kelly Reed, Sydney Davis, Justin Walker, (top row) Amanda Thompson, Chris Brown, and Maggie Parrish.