UAM Debate Team (front row) Zack Tucker, Jovan Walker, Eddie Weaver, Kelly Reed, Liz Borse, Lei Brist, Breanna Taylor, (middle) April Wright, Jamie Ward, Sam Montgomery, Anastasia Duff, Jonathon Hoskins, (back) Tiffany Tucker, Assistant Coach Keith Milstead, Jalon Lloyd, Chris Brown, and Head Coach Jim Evans.

The debate and forensics team at the University of Arkansas at Monticello won numerous team and individual awards at two recent national debate tournaments ­– the Pi Kappa Delta National Tournament hosted by Webster University of St. Louis March 13-17 and the International Public Debate Association (IPDA) National Tournament hosted by UAM March 21-24.

UAM was one of 89 collegiate debate teams from across the country competing in the 100th Pi Kappa Delta Tournament. As a team, UAM received an excellent rating in the debate sweepstakes competition. Individually, Jonathon Hoskins of Hermitage and Kelly Reed of Benton received awards in multiple categories. Hoskins was a semifinalist in the IPDA open debate competition and received ratings of excellent in both open IPDA debate and public forum debate. Reed placed second in open IPDA debate and received ratings of superior in both IPDA debate and student scholarship as well as a rating of excellent in public forum debate.

Other UAM students attending the Pi Kappa Delta Tournament included Tanisha Smith of Hamburg, Breanna Taylor of North Little Rock, Eddie Weaver of DeWitt, Anastasia Duff of Dermott, April Wright of Conway, Jamie Ward of Pocahontas, Samantha Montgomery of Woodlawn, and Tiffany Tucker of Cabot.

UAM won a number of individual tournament and season-long awards at the IPDA Nationals in Monticello. UAM coach Jim Evans was named IPDA National Debate Coach of the Year and UAM placed seventh overall as a team in the season-long competition. Other season-long awards went to Kelly Reed and Jonathon Hoskins (third in team IPDA debate), Hoskins (fifth in varsity debate), Reed (fourth in varsity debate), Zack Tucker (seventh in professional debate), and Chris Brown (fourth in professional debate). UAM placed third overall in season-long professional debate.

Individual IPDA Tournament awards went to Anastasia Duff (round of 16), April Wright (10th place speaker and novice debate semifinalist), Kelly Reed (team fifth place speaker, varsity debate fourth place speaker, and round of 16), Eddie Weaver (team third place speaker), and Jonathan Hoskins (varsity debate round of 16).