Debate Team

Gauge Adkins of Vilonia won the junior varsity speaking championship to lead the University of Arkansas at Monticello debate team to the overall sweepstakes championship of the University of Central Arkansas Debate Tournament in Conway last week.

In addition to the overall sweepstakes title, UAM placed second in the International Public Debate Association sweepstakes, second in Team IPDA Sweepstakes, and posted the third best winning percentage in debate competition.

In addition to his junior varsity speaking championship, Adkins was also a team quarterfinalist and reached the junior varsity round of 16 in debate. Blake Adkins, also of Vilonia, was the fifth place junior varsity speaker and a semifinalist in junior varsity debate.

Reagan Dobbs of Dayton, Tex., was the fifth place team speaker, an individual varsity quarterfinalist, and a team quarterfinalist. Jacob Chisom of Monticello and Ben Graves of Hot Springs were team semifinalists; Natalie Craig of Sherwood reached the round of 16 in novice debate; Kyle Hargis of Warren was a junior varsity quarterfinalist; and Abbygail Rounsaville of Mabelvale was the third place novice speaker and reached the round of 16 in novice debate.

Others participating for UAM were Sam Aumagamanaia of Roswell, N.M., Gabriel Bass of Pearcy, Adeline Bowman of Berthoud, Colo., Jordan Lakin of Cabot, Gabe McDorman of Sheridan, Grace Nash of Mount Holly, and Zach Young of Wilmar.