UAM Debate 2


The debate team at the University of Arkansas at Monticello captured the Debate Commander Award for the highest overall winning percentage and the second place Sweepstakes Award at the Eddy Shell Invitational Debate Tournament hosted recently by Bossier Parrish Community College in Shreveport, Louisiana.

UAM debaters also won the third place Individual Sweepstakes Award in the International Public Debate Association Division, and the third place Individual Events Sweepstakes.

“I thought our students did a wonderful job, as always, against very good competition,” said Jim Evans, director of debate and forensics at UAM. “I have enjoyed coaching this group.”

In individual events, Gabrielle Swain of Monticello was the novice division champion, second place extemporaneous speaker, third place program of interpretation speaker, placed fifth in the individual event sweepstakes, and was the sixth place prose speaker.

Cody Bijou of Crosby, Tex., was the varsity speaker champion, a varsity debate semifinalist, fourth place varsity team speaker, and a varsity team quarterfinalist.

Luke Beatty of Dermott was a junior varsity quarterfinalist.

Chris Brown of the UAM faculty was the professional division champion speaker as well as professional debate semifinalist.

Kelly Brown, a UAM graduate from Siloam Springs, was a quarterfinalist competing in the professional division.

Jacob Chisom of Monticello was the third place extemporaneous speaker and reached the round of 16 in varsity debate.

Reagan Dobbs of Dayton, Tex., was the fifth place varsity speaker, reached the round of 16 in varsity competition, and was a varsity team quarterfinalist.

Kyle Hargis of Warren was the sixth place impromptu speaker and reached the round of 16 in the novice division.

Others competing for UAM were Nathan Bailey of Monticello, Grace Nash of Mount Holly and Ben Graves of Hot Springs.

Members of the UAM debate team with their awards are pictured above (from left, front) Cody Bijou, Jacob Chisom, (from left, standing in back) Grace Nash, Reagan Dobbs, Gabrielle Swain, Kyle Hargis and Nathan Bailey.