Debate students from the University of Arkansas at Monticello brought home six individual awards from The Deep South Tournament hosted recently by Mississippi College in Clinton, Miss.

Zack Tucker, a graduate student from Marked Tree, was a semifinalist and third place individual speaker in the professional debate division. Also competing in the professional division were graduate students Tiffany Tucker of Cabot and Chris Brown of Siloam Springs. Tucker was a quarterfinalist in the professional division while Brown was the fifth place individual speaker. The professional debate division features competition among graduate students and debate coaches and instructors.

Kelly Reed of Bentonville was a quarterfinalist in the varsity debate division and won the Linsay Miller Award as the top speaker from all divisions.

Other students competing in the tournament were Sydney Davis of Bentonville, April Wright of Conway, Breanna Taylor of North Little Rock, Charles Hall of Longview, Tex., Lei Brist of Cabot, Anastasia Duff of Dermott, Samantha Montgomery of Rison, Michelle Hampton of Wilmot, Charles Gilbert of Kilbourne, La., Eddie Weaver of DeWitt, and Jovan Walker of Hot Springs.

Schools competing at the tournament included UAM, Union University, Tulane, Harding, host Mississippi College, LSU-Shreveport, Bossier Parish Community College, UA-Pine Bluff, East Texas Baptist, and two independent professional teams.

UAM debaters competing at the Mississippi College Tournament are pictured above (from left) Sydney Davis, Tiffany Tucker April Wright, Breanna Taylor, (second row) Lei Brist, Anastasia Duff, Samantha Montgomery, Kelly Reed, Michelle Hampton, Charles Gilbert, (back row) Eddie Weaver, Zack Tucker, Chris Brown, Charles Hall, and Jovan Walker.