The debate team at the University of Arkansas at Monticello placed fourth in both overall debate and sweepstakes competition at a recent tournament hosted by Louisiana State University-Shreveport.

Chris Brown of Siloam Springs, a graduate assistant with the debate team, was named the first place individual speaker in the professional division and reached the debate quarterfinals. Zack Tucker of Marked Tree, a UAM graduate and member of the university staff, was the second place individual speaker and also a debate quarterfinalist in the professional division. Also competing in the professional division was Bobby Evans of Memphis, Tenn., an agriculture major who reached the debate semifinals.

In varsity debate, Jon Hoskins of Banks reached the quarterfinals while Anastasia Duff of Dermott reached the round of 16 in novice debate.  Kelly Reed of Bentonville and Hoskins reached the round of 16 in the team IPDA debate competition.

Members of the UAM debate team, pictured above, are (from left, front) Jon Hoskins of Banks, Breanna Taylor of North Little Rock, Tiffany Tucker of Cabot, Kelly Reed of Bentonville, Anastasia Duff of Dermott, Eddie Weaver of DeWitt, (back row, from left) Chris Brown of Siloam Springs, Jovan Walker of Hot Springs, Zack Tucker of Marked Tree, and Michelle Hampton of Wilmot. (Not pictured: Sam Montgomery of Rison, Lei Brist of Cabot, Bobby Evans of Memphis, Jessica Thrower of Rison, Kim Graham of Star City, Crystal Wingate of Monticello, and April Wright of Conway.