As part of its homecoming festivities on October 20, the University of Arkansas at Monticello will flashback 25 and 30 years to recognize members of the 1993 and 1988 NAIA football playoff teams during the game against Oklahoma Baptist at Convoy Leslie Cotton Boll Stadium. Kickoff for the game is 3 p.m.

The 1988 team will be recognized on the field at the end of the first quarter. The 1993 will be recognized at the end of the third quarter.

Before the game, at 11 a.m., the teams will gather for tailgate parties on Tailgate Row. After game, at 7 p.m., team members will gather for dinner and drinks at La Terrazza.

UAM Hall of Famer Tommy Barnes coached both teams to the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) football playoffs in 1988 and 1993.

The 1988 Weevils set the UAM record for most wins in a single season, finishing 10-2 and earning the program’s first NAIA playoff appearance. The team’s 4,047 yards of offense became a school record until the 1993 season.

Six players received all-conference honors and quarterback, Sean Rochelle was named the AIC Offensive Player of the Year. Rochelle, who was also named an Academic All-American, led the Weevils with 2,024 yards of total offense and a single-season record 16 rushing touchdowns to close his career with 4,615 total yards and the UAM season scoring record (98 points).

Jerry Johnson, who matched the program’s the single-season record for interceptions (8) and Morehead Jordan, who led the team with 130 tackles, received Second Team All-America honors. Mac Newcomb and offensive linemen Brad Breland and Mark Eubanks received All-America honorable mentions. Breland, the Weevils’ kicker, set the UAM record for most consecutive field goals made (9), which stands today. During the season, Breland made a 51-yard field goal against Arkansas Tech – the longest in program history at the time.

The 1993 Weevils football team flipped a 1-3 start into a seven-game win streak to claim the Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference (AIC) title and earn the program’s second trip to the NAIA football playoffs. The team’s 8-4 record was highlighted by the program’s 300th win, a 14-10 win over Northwest Oklahoma on Oct. 2.

The 1993 team collected 4,132 yards of total offense, breaking the 1988 team’s record – a mark that stood until the 2000 season. Among the highlights of the season was a 90-yard touchdown pass from Bryan Trucks to Chris Glasper against Langston in the playoffs. It was the longest touchdown in program history at that time. Only three plays have gone for more yards since. It was one of two passes longer than 70 yards in the game and one of five during the season by Trucks.

Punter J.J. Depriest was named a First Team NAIA All-American, while tailback Roy Watkins and strong safety David Johnson were honored as Second Team All-America selections. Paul Russell, center, and defensive back Tilford Hines were honorable mention. Seven players received All-AIC honors.

Members of the 1988 UAM Football Team
Johnny Baker, Rod Birmingham, Robbie Bray, Brad Breland, John Carmouche, Donald Clark, Boo Cox, Mike Cox, Shane Crawford, Butch Dickerson, Howard Dilworth, Michael Drummond, Robert Edwards, Brad Eubanks, Mark Eubanks, Danny Funderburg, Mike Hartley, Kevin Jackson, Clarence Johnson, Jerry Johnson, Vincent Johnson, Craig Jones, Morehead Jordan, Brad Lambden, Mark Laster, Jeff Looney, John Looney, Terry McClinton, Leon Miller Jr., Roy Murry, Ronald Neal, Mac Newcomb, Roddy Patrick, Greg Pearson, Jason Perot, Eric Richardson, Ed Robinson, Steve Robinson, Sean Rochelle, Robert Seay, T.R. Seets, Lamar Thomas, Gvona Turner, Marcus Wallace, Mark Weber, Tim Wells, Sid Wheatley, Jeff White.

Members of the 1993 UAM Football Team
Michael Allen, Jay Austin, Keith Babin, David Baker, Eric Ball, Rodney Begneaud, Martin Bevill, Ashward Breaux, Daryl Collins, Rodney Cross, John Crow, Tyrone Davis, Tony DeLeon, Wayne Denman, J.J. DePriest, Bill Ferrell, Scott Floyd, Keith Freeman, Paul Gautreaux, Chris Glasper, Tommy Graf, Trey Hall, Tilford Hines, Andy Holmes, Chris Houston, Scott Howell, Jeffrey Jackson, David Johnson, Michael Johnson, Tremayne Johnson, Tommy Jones, Chris Kersey, Eric Knutson, Steve Matejka, Willie McCray, Nakia McKay, Jimmy Menifee, Jeff Miller, Chuck Moore, Josh Muckelberg, Steve Pinell, Owen Powell, Louis Purifoy, Harold Rose, Paul Russell, Reginald Sabb, Andy Shaw, Casey Shope, Rick Still, Chris Taylor, Michael Taylor, Bryan Trucks, Chris Vereen, J.C. Walker, Herbie Walters, Roy Watkins.

Other Homecoming Week Festivities

Tuesday, October 16

• Campus Cookout at 5 p.m. on the MBSF lawn.

Wednesday, October 17

• UAM National Pan-Hellenic Council’s “Music on the Yard” at the University Center Plaza, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.

Thursday, October 18

• Alumni Tea at the Trotter House from 2 p.m. – 4 p.m. Tickets are $15 each. The Trotter House is located at 404 North Main in Monticello.

• UAM Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet at 6 p.m. in the University Center Green Room. Wess Moore, Sports Director on Fox 16 and 103.7 “The Buzz”, will serve as the Master of Ceremony for the event. Tickets are $35 per person. Proceeds benefit the UAM Sports Hall of Fame. For tickets, contact the Department of Athletics at (870) 460-1058.

• Pep Rally at 8 p.m. at Convoy Leslie Cotton Boll Stadium.

Friday, October 19

• UAM Alumni and Friends Golf Tournament at the Monticello Country Club. This event is free to all alumni. The tournament begins at 1 p.m. A reception will follow at 6 p.m. For details, please call Paul Griffin at (870) 723-4030.

• Homecoming Celebration for alumni and friends at 6 p.m. at The Ridge, 238 Wilson Mill Rd, Monticello. Celebration includes an informal dinner and introduction of the 2018 Alumni Award for Achievement and Merit recipients and Continuing the Connection Awards. For more information, call the UAM Alumni Affairs office at (870) 460-1028.

Saturday, October 20

• A&M/UAM African-American Alumni Reunion Breakfast, 8:30 a.m., in the Capitol Room of the University Center. Tickets are $20 per person. For more information, contact Classie Jones-Green at (870) 556-0527.

• Alpha Sigma Alpha Sorority Reunion Breakfast, 10 a.m., University Center Gallery Room. There will be a silent auction to raise money for Special Olympics. Contact MacKienze Johnson, Alpha Sig representative at (318)331-2738.

• Homecoming Queens Reunion Brunch, 10 a.m., at the University Center Green Room. For more information, contact Lisa Jo Ross at (870) 460-1028 for details;

• UAM Softball Alumni Game, 10 a.m., at the UAM Softball Field. For details, call the UAM Athletic Department at (870) 460-1058.

• Weevil Tailgate Parties, 11 a.m. – 2:30 p.m., Tailgate Row adjacent to Weevil Pond. All A&M/UAM alumni and friends are invited to participate in pre-game tailgating.

• Weevil Walk of Champions and Homecoming Parade, 12:30 p.m., Tailgate Row.

• Pre-game Ceremony, including introduction of 2018 Homecoming Court and coronation of Queen, 2:30 p.m., Convoy Leslie Cotton Boll Stadium.

•Kickoff of Homecoming football game, 3 p.m., UAM vs. Oklahoma Baptist.

•Halftime softball field dedication in memory of Coach Alvy Early, Convoy Leslie Cotton Boll Stadium.

For more information about events during homecoming week, contact the Office of Alumni Affairs at (870) 460-1028.