The University of Arkansas has begun a search for a new chancellor for the Monticello campus, according to Dr. Donald Bobbitt, president of the UA System.

Current UAM Chancellor Jack Lassiter will retire January 5, 2015, after more than 10 years as chief executive officer. The search to replace Lassiter is being conducted by Witt/Kieffer, an Oakbrook, Illinois-based search firm in conjunction with a campus search committee. A review of applicants will begin in early 2015.

The search committee is being chaired by Mary Whiting, dean of enrollment. Members of the committee are Jay Hughes, vice chancellor for students services; Bob Ware, vice chancellor of the UAM College of Technology-McGehee; faculty members Dr. Ed Bacon, Dr. John Hunt, Donna Hunnicutt; UAM Baseball Coach John Harvey; Leah Bryant, administrative assistant to the chancellor; Monticello businessmen Bennie Ryburn, III and Tommy Maxwell, both former members of the UAM Board of Visitors; and Cliff Gibson, a member of the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees.

UAM was founded in 1909 as the Fourth District Agricultural School, became Arkansas A&M in 1928 and joined the University of Arkansas System on July 1, 1971. UAM is home to approximately 3,800 students and includes three campuses – the main campus in Monticello and Colleges of Technology in Crossett and McGehee.

Consultants from Witt/Kieffer working with the UAM search committee are Lucy Leske and Zachary Smith. They can be reached at [email protected]

Anyone wishing to contact the UAM search committee may email Mary Whiting at [email protected] Information regarding the search may be found at